make a donation
buy tickets
The Latest

News & Press Releases

Welcoming Chapman Cultural Center's Newest Officers and Board Members

September 03, 2020 | Features

Chapman Cultural Center is pleased to announce the appointment of its new officers and newly elected Trustees who were elected at the annual meeting on June 9, 2020 and will begin their service at the first quarterly meeting on September 8th. Dr. Brant Bynum, Ph.D will serve as Chairman and Laura Montgomery as Vice Chairwoman, Bill Robertson as Treasurer, and William Gray as Secretary. 

Other members of the Executive Committee include: Dr. Boone Hopkins, Grants GOS; Linda Hannon - Governance; David McCutchen - Facilities; Araceli Henandez-Laroche - Education; Jennifer Januchowski - Community Grants; Bert Barre - Strategic Planning.

Dr. Bynum is a retired professor and administrator from Converse College and received his Ph.D. in Spanish literature from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  While at Converse College, he served as Director of Advising, Associate Dean of Arts & Sciences, and was named Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Director of Student Success heading up the Center for Student Development and Success. Dr. Bynum taught all levels of Spanish language and a variety of advanced level literature courses. He retired from Converse College in 2018. He is a longtime supporter of the cultural community of Spartanburg and considers it an honor to serve as board chairman at Chapman Cultural Center.

Laura Montgomery has been appointed as the Vice Chairwoman. Laura has been active in volunteerism and fundraising in Spartanburg for many years. She graduated from Hollins University with a degree in English and Elementary Education and has served on the board of Ballet Spartanburg, Clarity: The Speech, Hearing and Learning Center (Greenville), Hatcher Garden, Spot of Pride, and Episcopal Church Women. She is currently serving on the South Carolina School for the Deaf and Blind Foundation. She successfully served as the head of the Peggy Gignilliat Society, Chapman Cultural Center’s major gifts committee in 2019, and will be serving as the head of the Development Committee this year in addition to her role as Vice Chairman. 

In addition to new officers, Chapman Cultural Center welcomes the following community leaders to our Board of Trustees this year: 

Melissa Albergotti SVP, Upstate SC Market Manager, Bank of America

Rhonda Gibson, Owner, In-1-Place

Emma Harrill, SVP, First Citizens Bank

Stan Parker, SVP, Truist Financial

Betsy Neely-Skima, Director of Communications, Milliken & Company

The complete Chapman Cultural Center Board of Trustees include:

Brant Bynum, PhD, Chairman

Laura Montgomery, Vice-Chairman

William Gray, Secretary

Bill Robinson, Treasurer

Jennifer C. Evins, President & CEO

Melissa Albergotti

Lucy Boland

Hon. David Britt

Hon. Erica Brown

Louise Connell

Dick Crenshaw

Dr. J. Sidney Fulmer

Dr. Ron Garner

Lewis Glenn, Esq.

Rhonda Gibson

Linda Hannon

Emma Harrill

Kelly T. Harvey


Sheila D. Henderson

Dr. Araceli Hernandez Laroche

Dr. Boone Hopkins

Hon. Max Hyde

Jennifer Januchowski

David McCutchen

Margarette Bell Miller

Stan Parker

Carlotta Redish, PhD

Betsy Neely Sikma

Dr. Glenda Sims

Allen Smith

Tina Stevens

Carole Y. Summers

Hon. Scott Talley

Thomas Tucker

Winston Wingo

Browse Our Articles
Subscribe to RSS-Feed